💓 DAWN OF CHROMATICA 💓

Follow Gaga Daily on Telegram
opinion

About what's a single and what't not a single

PatrickMonster

Featured Posts

PatrickMonster

Hi guys! With this thread I would like to discuss with yall what is considered a single, a promotional single and an album track nowadays. I've been editing Wikipedia articles for years now, and I have some knowledge about this topic, but I would like to hear your opinion about this stuff.

So in my opinion a song can be considered a single if: it is released officially in at least one major country and/or have a physical release and/or the artist or the team-label of the artist specifically says the song is a single.

For an official airplay release mostly bigger countries matter like the US, UK, Australia, Italy, France. They announce when a single is getting a radio release, so everyone knows. A song doesn't need to be released worldwide to be considered a single, its enough if one country has an airplay release of it. For example Dance in the Dark was released in Australia, Chunky by Bruno Mars was released in Australia, Talking to the Moon was released in Brazil (a very special case I must add) etc. As I stated before Italy is one of the countries to declare that a song is specifially released as a single through airplay there. For example we have Joanne by Gaga, Hold Tight by Madonna and Hey Hey Hey by Katy Perry. The commercial performance of the song after its release doesn't matter as all as HHH couldn't chart in Italy for example, but its still considered a single.