Follow Gaga Daily on Telegram
question

When Gaga said she was mismanaged during ARTPOP...?

Dr Fudge

Featured Posts

Dr Fudge

So last night I watched the iTunes Festival performance in its entirety for the first time in almost 8 years and I have so many thoughts. The last time I watched this was when it debuted while I was a student in college. Back then I was very busy with school work and I think I didn’t completely process the importance of this performance.

Before I get into my thoughts, I think it’s important to acknowledge a few things. The iTunes festival took place on September 1st, 2013 while ARTPOP dropped 2 months later on November 6th. For those who haven’t watched before, she performs Aura, Manicure, ARTPOP, Sex Dreams, Jewels n Drug, I Want to Be With You, Swine, and Applause. That’s 8 out of 15 tracks on the album. At this point in time, the general public had only heard Applause and the Aura demo if you were sneaky, so this was, in large, a grand unveiling of ARTPOP.

Now rewatching this concert the one thing that’s super apparent is the fact that 7/8 songs performed here are different than how they were on the album. While it’s common knowledge that Gaga was mismanaged during this era, do you think that part of this mismanagement by Troy was being forced to change the vision she had for these songs? I know it’s common for songs to change a lot as they’re created, but it’s surprising that she’d sing 7 songs live before she felt confident in the final creation, especially being the perfectionist that she is. Most artists don’t do such a large preview of an album before its release, which grants viewers an exclusive view at how much an album can change before release. Which is why this particular concert is so poignant for ARTPOP analysis- between this performance and leaks, that’s all we really have (as fans) to understand how much the album shifted during its creation.