Follow Gaga Daily on Telegram
opinion

Was ARUTW inspired by Despacito?

destructivelove

Featured Posts

destructivelove

Okay first off, credit goes to “A Hybrid” for noticing the similarities of the two songs.  I was SO READY to attack him when he commented in a thread that the two sound the same...however I strongly suggest you relisten to the instrumental only first while singing ARUTW over the track (which works literally like it’s meant to be), and then listen normal version with vocals to the EXTREME similarities of the sung verses.   For example the note structure of the line “The part of me that's you will never die” lines up almost exactly to the sung verse by daddy yankee directly prior to the prechorus where Luis fonsi starts singing again 

Now before you “excuse me no” me, ARUTW is one of my favorite songs ever made by Gaga.  And I’m in no way saying she said in the studio “okay guys. We need to make our own despacito”. But I also know as a musician myself, that constantly listens to music, I often unknowingly pull inspiration from whatever songs I’m replaying currently, and sometimes will hear a really cool melody on a song I’m listening to and then warp it into my own, and record it for future use in a track in some way.  Despacito was WITHOUT A DOUBT the most overplayed song of the past two years.  And I don’t for a second doubt Gaga could have knowingly or unknowingly been influenced by a track she undoubtedly repeatedly heard (along with the producers on her track).  We know that Mark Ronson and Gaga were directly (as mentioned, not just assuming) inspired by Uptown Funk (another extremely overplayed/ingrained song) when creating A-YO.  ...discuss (kindly please)