đź’™ HEAVY METAL LOVER T-SHIRT đź’š

Follow Gaga Daily on Telegram
opinion

The Fabric of Gaga(ness)

crisTEAne

Featured Posts

crisTEAne

two days ago, as i was getting ready for the last day of my summer job as a translator, i was listening to gaga's google interview because hearing her voice gets me in my english mood and, somehow, it relaxes me. (btw, i highly recommend rewatching her old interviews. all the years that gone by give you a certain perspective from which revisiting the frequently recurring questions/themes/motifs of gagzness is a more complex and, thus, more exciting experience.)

at one point during the interview, audience members had the chance to ask gagz a question. we all know that there is a question in particular—the question, if you will—that everybody, both GP members and LMs, love asking her: what is the difference between stefani and gagz? unsurprisingly, a girl (around 42:45) and a guy (around 48:10) asked this question but phrased it differently. gagz half-seriously said that she loves this question. by now all LMs know, or should know, that there is absolutely no separation whatsoever between stefani and gagz: they are the same person. the question was recently addressed by gagz in her variety interview when jamie lee curtis wanted to know if gagz is a character. the concept behind her answer was not that hard to grasp, i think. essentially, she said that from her point of view, gagz is not a character, there is no difference between stefani and gagz, she has as much stefani in her as gagz; from the GP's point of view, however, there is a difference. what she meant is that the way she perceives herself and the way the GP perceives her differ a great deal. in the former case, there is no separation; in contrast, in the latter case, there is. it means that there is an artificial gagz character that the GP constructed with which she cannot identify as that is not the way she views herself.